Cinema Tropical Announces the Nominees for the 6th Annual Cinema Tropical Awards


Honoring the Best Latin American Films of the Year, co-presented by NALIP!

LOS HONGOS (Colombia), and WHITE OUT, BLACK IN (Brazil)
Vie for the Award for Best Film


Twenty-nine films from twelve countries have been nominated in the sixth annual edition of the Cinema Tropical Awards, honoring the best of Latin American cinema of the year in six different categories: Best Feature Film; Best Documentary Film; Best Director, Feature Film; Best Director, Documentary Film; Best First Film; and Best U.S. Latino Film.

The five films competing for the Cinema Tropical Award for Best Feature Film of the Year are: The Club by Pablo Larraín (Chile), Jauja by Lisandro Alonso (Argentina), Los Hongos by Oscar Ruiz Navia (Colombia), The Princess of France by Matías Piñeiro (Argentina), and White Out, Black In by Adirley Queirós (Brazil).

The five nominees for Best U.S. Latino Film of the Year are: The Book of Life by Jorge Gutierrez,East Side Sushi by Anthony Lucero, Mala Mala by Antonio Santini and Dan Sickles, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Alfonso Gomez-Rejon, and We Like It Like That by Mathew Ramirez Warren.

The winners of the 6th Annual Cinema Tropical Awards will be announced at a special evening ceremony at The New York Times Company headquarters in New York City on Wednesday, January 20, 2016. The winning films will be showcased as part of the Cinema Tropical Festival at Museum of the Moving Image,February 25-28, 2016, celebrating the organization's 15th anniversary.

The candidates were culled from a comprehensive list of films created by a nominating committee composed of 12 film professionals from Latin America, the U.S., and Europe. All the films under consideration had a minimum of 60 minutes in length and premiered between April 1, 2014 and March 31, 2015.


Best Feature Film
The Club / El club (Pablo Larraín, Chile, 2015) 
Jauja (Lisandro Alonso, Argentina, 2014) 
Los Hongos (Óscar Ruiz Navia, Colombia, 2014)
The Princess of France / La princesa de Francia (Matías Piñeiro, Argentina/USA, 2014)
White Out, Black In / Branco Sai, Petro Fica (Adirley Queirós, Brazil, 2014)

Best Director, Feature Film
Nicolás Pereda, The Absent / Los ausentes(Mexico, 2014)
Gabriel Mascaro, August Winds / Ventos de Agosto (Brazil, 2014)
Pablo Larraín, The Club / El club (Chile, 2015)
Laura Amelia Guzmán and Israel Cárdenas,Sand Dollars / Dólares de arena (Dominican Republic/Mexico/Argentina, 2014)
Paz Fábrega, Viaje (Costa Rica, 2015)

Best First Film
600 Miles (Gabriel Ripstein, Mexico, 2015) 
The Fire / El incendio (Juan Schnitman, Argentina, 2015)
Ixcanul (Jayro Bustamante, Guatemala, 2015) 
She Comes Back on Thursday / Ela Volta Na Quinta (Andrés Novais Oliveira, Brazil, 2014) 
 Videophilia (and Other Viral Syndromes) / Videofilia (y otros síndromes virales) (Juan Daniel F. Molero, Peru, 2015)

Best Documentary Film
A Committee Chronicle / Crónica de un comité (José Luis Sepúlveda and Carolina Adriazola, Chile, 2014)
 Identification Photos / Retratos de Identificaçao (Anita Leandro, Brazil, 2014)
Invasion / Invasión (Abner Benaim, Panama, 2014)
 Last Conversations / Últimas Conversas(Eduardo Coutinho, Brazil, 2015) 
Monte Adentro (Nicolás Macario Alonso, Colombia/Argentina, 2014)

Best Director, Documentary Film
Maíra Bühler and Matias Mariani, I Touched All Your Stuff / A Vida Privada dos Hipopótamos (Brazil, 2014) 
Karina García Casanova, Juanicas (Mexico, 2014) 
Betzabé García, Kings of Nowhere / Los reyes del pueblo que no existe (Mexico, 2015)
Aldo Garay, The New Man / El hombre nuevo (Uruguay, 2015) 
 Christopher Murray, Propaganda (Chile, 2014)

Best U.S. Latino Film
The Book of Life (Jorge Gutierrez, USA, 2014) 
East Side Sushi (Anthony Lucero, USA, 2014)
Mala Mala (Antonio Santini and Dan Sickles, USA/Puerto Rico, 2014) 
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl (Alfonso Gomez-Rejon USA, 2015) 
We Like It Like That (Mathew Ramirez Warren, USA, 2015) 

2015 JURY:
Amalia Córdova, film programmer and scholar; Aaron Cutler, film critic and programmer; Paul Dallas, film critic; Vanessa Erazo, Film Editor, Remezcla; Michelle Farrell, film scholar; Sandra Kogut, filmmaker; Dominic Davis, film programmer, Rooftop Films; David Schwartz, Chief Curator, Museum of the Moving Image; Diana Vargas, Artistic Director, Havana Film Festival New York.

Fábio Andrade, Revista Cinética, Brazil; Juan Pablo Bastarrachea, Cine Tonalá, Mexico; Consuelo Castillo, DOCTV Latinoamérica, Colombia; Fernando del Razo, Riviera Maya Film Festival, Mexico; Vanessa Erazo, Film Editor, Remezcla, USA; Luis Gonzalez Zaffaroni, DocMontevideo, Uruguay; James Lattimer, Berlinale's Forum, Germany; Alicia Morales, Lima Film Festival, Peru; Joel Poblete. SANFIC, Chile; Andrea Stavenhagen, San Sebastian Film Festival, Spain; Charles Tesson, Critics' Week, Cannes, France; Raúl Niño Zambrano, International Documentary Film Festival - IDFA, Netherlands.

The Cinema Tropical Awards are presented in partnership with The New York Times Company’s Latino Network, Museum of the Moving Image, and National Association of Latino Independent Producers (NALIP), and are made possible with the support of the Mexican Cultural Institute of New York and Full Circle Post. Media Sponsor: Remezcla and LatAm cinema. Hotel Sponsor: Hôtel Americano. Special thanks to Andrea Betanzos.

For more information visit

About Cinema Tropical and the Cinema Tropical Awards:
New York-based Cinema Tropical (CT) [] is the leading presenter of Latin American cinema in the U.S. Founded by Carlos A. Gutiérrez and Monika Wagenberg in 2001 with the mission of distributing, programming and promoting what was to become the biggest boom of Latin American cinema in decades, CT has brought U.S. audiences some of the first screening of films such as Amores Perros and Y Tu Mamá También. Through a diversity of programs and initiatives, CT is thriving as a dynamic and groundbreaking 501(c)(3) non-profit media arts organization experimenting in the creation of better and more effective strategies for the distribution and exhibition of foreign cinema in this country. The Cinema Tropical Awards were created in 2010 to honor excellence in Latin American filmmaking, and it is the first international award entirely dedicated to honoring the artistry of recent Latin American cinema. In its inaugural year, the Awards were given to the Ten Best Latin American Films of the Aughts.