Latino Primetime Emmy Nominees

Louis C.K. received a record-breaking nine (9) Primetime Emmy nominations for this year's ceremony, the most for an individual in the same year (he broke his own record of seven nominations from last year). The Mexican-American actor-comedian-writer-director-editor received his nominations for his FX television series "Louie", his comedy special "Oh My God" and his guest hosting stint on NBC's "Saturday Night Live". The categories for which he is nominated are listed below.

Emmy nominations for "Louie"
• Outstanding Comedy Series 
• Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy Series
• Outstanding Directing For A Comedy Series
• Outstanding Writing For A Comedy Series

Emmy nominations for "Oh My God"
• Outstanding Variety Special
• Outstanding Directing For A Variety Special
• Outstanding Writing For A Variety Special
• Outstanding Picture Editing For Short-Form Segments and Variety Specials
• Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series (Host on "Saturday Night Live")

Another Latino multiple nominee is Bobby Cannavale, who earned nods for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series for his role in "Boardwalk Empire" (HBO) and Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series for his turn on "Nurse Jackie" (Showtime). 

Also nominated were Sofía Vergara (Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series for ABC's "Modern Family") and Morena Baccarin (Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series for Showtime's "Homeland").

Behind the scenes people also nominated for a Primetime Emmy Award this year include Fred Armisen (Outstanding Writing For A Variety Series for IFC's "Portlandia"), Rachelle Méndez (as one of the producers of Outstanding Reality Program nominee "Undercover Boss" [CBS]), Vanessa Abugho Ballesteros (as Senior Producer of Outstanding Reality-Competition Program nominee "The Amazing Race" [CBS] ), Gustavo Domínguez (Outstanding Cinematography for Reality Programming for Lifetime's "Project Runway"), Richard V. López (Outstanding Cinematography for Nonfiction Programming for the History Channel's "The Men Who Built America"), Eduardo Castro (Outstanding Costumes for a Series for ABC's "Once Upon A Time"), Juan Ruiz Anchia (Outstanding Main Title Design for FX's "American Horror Story"), Suzy Díaz (Outstanding Makeup for a Multi-Camera Series or Special [Non-Prosthetic] for Comedy Central's "Key & Peele").

Outstanding Hairstyling nominations (among several categories) went to Mary Guerrero, Arturo Rojas, Mary Ann Valdes, Beatrice Marie De Alba and Richard De Alba. 

Outstanding Lighting Design/Lighting Direction nods (among several categories) included nods for Oscar Domínguez and Félix Peralta. Outstanding Sound Editing nods (in several categories) went to, among others, Ruy García (two nominations) and Julián Gómez (one nomination here; he received a second nomination in the category of Outstanding Picture Editing). Pablo Munguía is nominated against himself (for two different projects) and Adrián Ordóñez in the Outstanding Sound Mixing For A Variety Series or Special. Special Effects nominations (among several categories include Ignacio Garcerón (Outstanding Special Visual Effects for ABC's "Last Resort"), Rick Ramírez (Outstanding Special Visual Effects In A Supporting Role for Cinemax's "Banshee"), Elizabeth Castro (Outstanding Special Visual Effects In A Supporting Role for NBC's "Revolution"). 

In addition, the Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork or Video Control categories feature Jofre Rosero (four nominations) Danny Bonilla and Héctor Ramírez (both with three nominations), Manny Bonilla (two nominations), Alex Hernández and Randy Gómez (both with one nomination each).  

Note that the above list does not include every member of a team that was nominated, just the Latinos within each team. 

Note that the above list may be incomplete due to the daunting number of categories.

The Primetime Emmy Award is a television production award and is considered the television equivalent to the Academy Awards for film, the Tony Awards for theater and the Grammy Awards for music. The list does not reflect this year's Daytime Emmys, nor any regional or international Emmy Awards. Three related but separate organizations present the Emmy Awards: the Academy of Television Arts & Science (ATAS), the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS), and the International Academy of Television Arts Sciences (IATAS). Each is responsible for administering a particular set of Emmy award shows.

The 65th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards, honoring the best in primetime television programming from June 1, 2012 until May 31, 2013, will be held on Sunday, September 22, 2013 at the Nokia Theatre in downtown Los Angeles, California, USA. Actor and singer Neil Patrick Harris will hoste. The Creative Arts Emmy Awards ceremony, presented in recognition of technical and other similar achievements in American television programming, will be held on Sunday, September 15, 2013.

For more information, click here.