Janell Smith Selected as Finalist in Producer's Guild ProShow

By Steve Pond, The Wrap

The Producers Guild of America announced the 11 finalists in the 2013 Producers Showcase competition on Monday, with five feature films, three reality television projects and three online projects competing for prize packages and development deals.

NALIP member Janell Smith is one of the finalists in the Reality Television category with her project "The Next Dragon."

The competition, also called ProShow, is open to producers who are working to get film, television or online projects off the ground. The finalists will receive award packages worth more than $20,000, along with free admission to the 2013 Produced By Conference, which will take place on June 8 and 9 at 20th Century Fox.

One winner in each category will be announced at the conference, and will receive development deals with Fox International Pictures (feature film category), Ryan Seacrest Productions (reality television category) and Maker Studios (online category).

The ProShow competition is in its fourth year, and is designed to offer up-and-coming producers the chance to work with top producers, financiers and distributors.

This is the first year for ProShow's Reality Television and Online Content categories.

Finalists were chosen by members of the PGA's International Committee and by representatives from the three development sponsors.

The ProShow competition is sponsored by TheWrap and Final Draft, and the finalists were announced exclusively on TheWrap's Twitter account:

Feature Film category (development sponsor: Fox International Productions)
"Coming About," Joyce Cox
"Fool Me Twice," James D. Brubaker
"Jack of the Red Hearts," Lucy Murkajee
"The Girl Who Owned the City," Bandi Savitt
"Vera," Noam Dromi

Reality Television category (development sponsor: Ryan Seacrest Productions)
"The Next Dragon," Janell Vila Smith
"Scandalous," Darian Ward
"Hollywood Moms," Chris Dupre and Rotimi Rainwater

Online Content category (development sponsor: Maker Studios)
"Cartoon Block," A.J. Vargas and Evan Burse
"Double D Girls," Zach Wilson
"Supermom," Kelly McKendry and Cheryl Conway