Call for Submissions: NEH Development and Production Grants for America's Media Makers

New application guidelines are now posted on the NEH website for America's Media Makers: Development and Production grants. The next deadline is August 15, 2012.

Grants for America's Media Makers supports the development of humanities content and interactivity that excite, inform, and stir thoughtful reflection upon culture, identity, and history in creative and new ways. NEH offers two categories of grants for media projects:
 
Development grants cover a wide range of activities that enable media producers to collaborate with scholars to develop humanities content and format and to prepare programs for production. Development grants should culminate in the refinement of a project's humanities ideas, a script, or a design document for (or a prototype of) digital media components or projects. Awards for development typically range from $40,000 to $75,000, depending on the complexity of the project, and are usually made for a period of six to twelve months.

Visit the NEH website for more information about Media Makers development grants.
 
Production grants support the preparation of a radio, television or digital technology program for distribution. Applicants must submit a script for a radio or television program, or a prototype or storyboard for a digital media project, that demonstrates a solid command of the humanities ideas and scholarship related to a subject. Awards last for one to three years and may range from $100,000 to $800,000.
 
Visit the NEH website for more information about Media Makers production grants.


Program officers in the Division of Public Programs are available to assist you, whether it is to discuss project ideas or to read a draft proposal. Please call the NEH Division of Public Programs (202-606-8269) or contact a program officer directly. Below are the names and contact information for the Division’s program officers:
 
Barbara Bays, 202-606-8290, bbays@neh.gov
Jeff Hardwick, 202-606-8287, jhardwick@neh.gov
Karen Kenton, 202-606-8307, kkenton@neh.gov
David Martz, 202-606-8297, dmartz@neh.gov
John Meredith, 202-606-8218, jmeredith@neh.gov
Kathleen Mulvaney, 202-606-8270, kmulvaney@neh.gov
Danielle Shapiro, 202-606-8241, dshapiro@neh.gov
David Weinstein, 202-606-8308, dweinstein@neh.gov